Voters approved a ballot initiative (prop 203) in 2010 to have a medical marijuana program. The initiative required the Arizona Legislators to write laws A.R.S. 36-2801 thru 2819, based on the wording in the initiative. Those laws authorize the Arizona Department of Health Services to write Rules R9-17-101 thru 323 to administer the program. AZDHS is the ONLY Arizona Dept. who can write rules and policy. Not DES, AZLTC, DDD, AHCCCS, MH, Housing Authority or any other social service program.
ARS 36-2813 (A) Discrimination prohibited: No School or Landlord may refuse to enroll or lease to, and may not otherwise penalize a person solely for his status as a cardholder…
ARS 26-2813 (B)…an employer may not discriminate against a person in hiring, termination, or imposing any terms or conditions including failing a drug test…
ARS 36-2805 (A) Any nursing care institution, hospice, assisted living center, assisted living facility, or adult foster care home, licensed under title 35, chapter 4, can write reasonable restrictions or write no restrictions for a registered medical marijuana patient use of their medicine.
ARS 36-2805 (C) A facility listed in subsection A may NOT unreasonably limit a registered qualifying patient’s access to or use of marijuana authorized under this chapter.
These statues do say unless failing to do so would cause the employer, landlord, or facility to lose funding or licensing benefits under Federal law.
There are no Federal Laws that manage a State’s Medical Marijuana Program, no funding or licensing privileges have been lost, no funding for social services programs in any state, have ever been eliminated because of a medical marijuana patient authorized use, in 25 years.
This circle of protection for those participating in the Arizona Medical Marijuana Program do include protection for licensed: patients, caregivers, dispensary agents, lab technicians, and people who are around a patients’ use of marijuana medicine, including a landlord and business property.
Likewise, a registered patient and caregiver do have responsibilities under AMMA =Arizona Medical Marijuana Act. They must have a valid card that is not expired, must report an address or name change within 10 days, report a lost or stolen card as soon as they are aware it is missing, have only 2.5 oz. of usable medicine, purchase no more than 2.5 oz. every 14 days, not drive if they are incapacitated, not sell marijuana although they can share with another registered patient, not grow more than 12 plants if authorized to cultivate, provide false information to the department or law enforcement to hide a crime, not use at work or in public places.
If you would like more information visit MJ Consulting LLC every Monday at 12:00 for a free class on, “I have my card now what”? Our classes are designed to educate before you medicate. There is no marijuana on the property, so it is a safe place to come learn.
Submitted as information not legal or medical advice. MJ Consulting LLC 8540 E. State Rt. 69, Prescott Valley, AZ 86314, Phone: 928-772-2011, website: www.mymjfamily.com